Autauga County Probate

Tags & Titles

Phone

(334) 361-3728

Location

176 W 5th Street, Prattville, AL 36067

Hours

Monday-Friday:
8:30 am - 5 pm

Quick Links

Tags, Titles & Licenses

Renew Vehicle Tags

Quickly & Easily Renew an Automobile or Boat Tag Online.

Vehicle Registration

Find out more information on how to register your vehicle.

Specialty Tags

Find out more information on how to obtain a specialty tag for your vehicle.

Driver Licenses

Learn how to obtain a driver's license, state ID card, or renewal information.

Hunting & Fishing Licenses

Get a Hunting or Fishing License today.

All vehicles in Alabama are personal property. The tax on this property is paid in advance from time of registration until your renewal month. Taxes on new vehicles are deferred until your subsequent renewal month.

New Autauga County Residents should provide proof of residency for Autauga County and one of the following items: renewal notice from the previous Alabama Court or title of the vehicle for which registration is needed.

 PENALTY SCHEDULE

 Failure to renew your tag in your renewal  month results in $15.00 plus interest penalty. 

  • Failure to transfer a purchased vehicle within 20 calendar days results in a $15.00 penalty.
  • Failure to register a vehicle within 30 days of an individual moving into the State with a valid out-of state license results in a $15.00 penalty.

 

AD VALOREM TAX VOUCHER
(Beginning date: August 2000)

In order to receive a voucher, one of the following criteria must be met:

  1. selling of a vehicle
  2. trading of a vehicle
  3. total destruction of a vehicle
  4. theft without recovery or other transfer.

You must provide documents to support the above criteria:

  1. Casual sale or trade…affidavit of buyer and address
  2. Sale or trade to license dealer…dealer’s bill of sale
  3. Theft of vehicle…report from law authority
  4. Lease trade-in…odometer statement
  5. Statement from insurance of company stating date of total loss

 In addition, the voucher can only be issued to the registered owner and proof of identification must be provided

  1. The credit can be applied to pay the ad valorem tax on another vehicle.
  2. Alabama law sets the eligibility time period to receive a credit voucher 1 year from sale or other transfer date.
  3. The voucher may only be redeemed in the county where it is issued.
  4. The voucher can only be transferred by the owner to their spouse or dependent child.

 

 

Phone

(334) 361-3728

Location

176 W 5th Street, Prattville, AL 36067

Hours

Monday-Friday:
8:30 am - 5 pm